Reykjavik, Iceland

This past week, UNC had spring break. I decided to travel to Iceland for eight nights and it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I stayed in Reykjavik, Iceland’s capital and largest city and it was unlike any place that I have ever been to before – a coastal city, but also one with thriving economic and cultural activity. Colorful homes and shops line the city, which is one of the cleanest, safest and greenest in the world. One my first day in Reykjavik I climbed to the top of Hallgrímskirkja church and got an incredible view of the entire city.

The things to do and see in Reykjavik are endless. From beautiful mountain views across the water to delicious authentic food and cultural landscapes that are must sees. I tried to fully grasp the culture of Iceland by eating as many different authentic foods as possible and the best thing that I discovered was Sheep’s Bone Marrow. When I first saw it on the menu I admit I was a bit nervous, and when it came out to the table still in the bone, I was even more nervous. But, after my first bite I was hooked. It was delicious, and paired perfectly with Iceland’s famous Viking Stout. 

Reykjavik intrigued me because it had both a cosmopolitan and also a small-town feel to it. I could have wandered through the colorful streets for days on end and found new and beautiful places every time, and with a huge number of cute cafés and independent shops to visit when you get tired of walking, it is a feasible thing to do.

Leave a Reply

